Nice FAQ on Energy Vampire Power Supplies

My first post was on how much energy I saved simply by getting rid of excess standby power supplies and shutting off electronic equipment at the power strip rather than with the remote or unit switch.

The biggest surprise to me was the power wasted by the digital cable box…  this runs between 13 and 30 watts with an average of 18 watts .  See LBNL table.

I came across a company that is really making a dent in the losses caused by inefficient power supplies.   The company is Power Integrations (POWI) and they have a nice FAQ on this subject.  This company will be on my stock watch list for future buying opportunities.   Right now its near its 52 week high.

Here is another nice post re subject.

One Response to Nice FAQ on Energy Vampire Power Supplies

  1. Andrew says:

    Good to know, I’ll keep that in mind next time I have equipment hooked up to a power strip

Leave a Reply

